Sharing my world – Week 28

Sorry I didn’t make last week’s post, Cee, although I thought the questions were really great. Here’s to another week of sharing.

Have you ever been a participant in a parade? What did you do?

No. I went to a couple parades during my time in the States, and was bored out of my skull. I’m sorry, my American friends, but I fail to see the point of those things.

If you were handed free opera tickets, would you go or sell them? Why?

I’ve loved opera from a very young age, and at one point even had a box seat at the Croatian National Theatre. So, of course I would go if I had a free ticket. Finding somebody to go with me, however, would probably prove difficult. 🙂

Why did you start your blog?

Hmmm, a few different reasons. I started out with the idea of writing a travel blog because I’ve been traveling quite extensively in the past 10 years, but I soon realized that I wanted to write about more than just where I’d been (although that still remains one of the basic tenets of my blog), and that I also *needed* the writing as an outlet. I spent the greater part of my life writing, starting from an early age, and I’d stopped doing it altogether around 2006, when I entered the world of work. I felt like I was missing an important part of who I am, so that’s how I got here.

What is your favorite tradition?

I was brought up in a household of very few traditions. There are two I remember most dinstinctly and fondly from my childhood: going out with my father every Sunday, he to play footbal with his friends, me to play with those friends’ kids, and then coming back home for lunch which my mom had meanwhile prepared; and putting up the Christmas tree and decorations on Christmas Eve. The latter survived until this day, and is probably my only proper tradition. Now that I’m building a new home, in a new country, and with a new man, any traditions we might have are yet to be created.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for the company of open-minded people and the opportunity to travel and see new places.

I’m looking forward to sorting out my administrative paperwork here in Germany, and hopefully bringing my translation work nearer the end.

5 thoughts on “Sharing my world – Week 28”

  1. Parades are WAY more fun if you’re actually in them. I did many in high school and had a great time. But I’ve got zero interest in going and watching them.

Leave a Reply

