Building a Gluten-Free Rome – Week 6

Running a bit late with this week’s goals as I’ve been swamped with work. Last week all work on the translation project suddenly stopped (and nobody answered my emails for 5 days so I didn’t know what was going on) and I found myself relaxing and having again more time for myself, which I used well. I read more, devised a complete workout plan, went for long walks, caught up with a few friends from home, and had a lovely weekend. Since Monday, however, the translation work has been up again, and I should stay busy until the end of the month.

Another thing that came to pass was the decision to drastically reduce my gluten intake. It didn’t really happen overnight, as I’ve been trying to figure out what my diet should be for the past few months, especially since I started gaining weight, and am now sporting a belly (wish it was beer!) and bra bulges that I’ve never had before in my life. I’ve also been struggling with indigestion, bloatedness, and overall swelling, heart palpitations and shortness of breath after meals, and other minor fun stuff. So I’ve been messing around with food, trying to figure out which type of food was bothering me the most, how long it took me to get hungry after a full meal… hence the food diary that I mentioned in my previous post.

So after much pondering, consulting, observing, and weighing of options, as well as some useful pointers from a friend who suffers from some of the same things, I figured I should try and eliminate gluten from my diet. I didn’t say right away that I would go completely gluten-free because I know myself well: if I try to go cold turkey on something, it usually doesn’t end well. But if I give myself a bit of time to get adjusted to a different set of ideas and habits, I have a better chance of success. I’ve started on this journey only two days ago so of course I don’t have any tangible results, but what I can honestly say is that I feel slightly better, even if only mentally: I’m not so bloated, I haven’t had cravings, I’ve eaten less. Let’s see how it goes. Of course, I’ll keep you posted on my progress and results.

This was last week:

1. Continue to try and get exercise at least 3x a week, be it in the form of pilates, home workout or long walk. → Yep! I worked out at home twice (with my newly designed total body workout), and I went for two 2-hour walks.

2. Clean the living room windows. → The only honest-to-god reason I didn’t do this is that the sun shone so brightly every single day of the week (and you can’t clean your windows in bright, direct sunlight), and by the evening I was busy doing other stuff. Then the deluge-like rain started on Saturday and has been going on non-stop ever since, making the whole attempt pointless. And since we’re away for the weekend, it’ll have to be left for next week. No biggie, really.

3. Avoid giving myself negative points. → Here I did as well as last week, no worse and no better I think. The fact that I can’t remember specific instances of beating myself up for something is already saying much.

Building Rome – Week 6:

1. Continue to try and get exercise at least 3x a week, be it in the form of pilates, home workout or long walk.

2. Try and eat as cleanly as possible – no gluten, reduced dairy intake, more fresh fruit and veggies, healthy snacks, simple treats.

3. Avoid giving myself negative points.

 

13 thoughts on “Building a Gluten-Free Rome – Week 6”

  1. Wishing you success in your diet change! Congrats on your goal accomplishments!

    (Especially the exercising, I get chills about adding that to my upcoming goals).

    1. It’s the toughest thing in the world to motivate yourself to exercise. But you feel mentally better right away and you become sort of addicted to that feeling, it’s almost like a natural high. It changed my life. And I was a person who absolutely *loathed* exercise.

      1. I don’t know if my brain is wired weird… but when I get into exercise mode… I’ve never really felt that ‘high’ that people talk about. I always feel better afterwards but it has never felt addictive to me. :S

      2. Not everybody is wired the same, I hear what you’re saying. Guilt and fear are my main motivators, but I’m definitely not addicted to exercise – if I was, I wouldn’t have to look for motivation and give myself pep-talks – I just feel really better and more energetic and stronger, so the ‘high’ is more mental persuasion than anything else in my case.

  2. Clean…the…windows… Why does it feel like I might need to look at doing this? LOL 🙂

    Good luck for the week!

  3. Curious how the gluten-free thing will work out for you! Are you trying totally gluten-free or just the obvious: bread, pasta, etc.?
    I need to take lessons from you for not giving myself negative points. I suck at it lately!

    1. Like I said, I don’t think I can do everything right away, plus I need to educate myself a bit more about the less obvious gluten sources, but if it works out I might just go completely gluten-free. I tried quinoa for the first time yesterday, and it was great!

      1. You know what, I’ve been thinking about adding something about this new little lifestyle on the blog, maybe not recipes (boring to write for me) but definitely what foods/brands are good, meal ideas and plans, stuff like that. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

