In Rome – Week 5

This is how I did last week.

1. Maintain a 3x per week exercise schedule for the duration of the translation gig (appr. 2 weeks). It can be either pilates or workouts at home, or a combination of both. I only worked out once, at home on Saturday, after I was finished with my first deadline. I was exhausted beyond belief after pulling 10 hours a day and wading through 30 pages of badly written text with sentences running on for 5-6 lines. Then on Sunday, of course, I was so sore I could barely move. But at least I walked for 4 hours yesterday, so I feel I haven’t done too badly for such a gruelling week. And hey, I held out for 20 seconds doing the plank! (May not seem like much, but for me it’s a huge milestone.)

2. Publish 2 posts per week. I did 3 again, thanks to the weekly photo challenge.

3.  Avoid giving myself negative points. This one was tough as usual, but I think I did pretty well. I did berate myself a bit for letting some work-related stuff get to me and taking it personally, but I got over it pretty quickly by just focusing on the work ahead.

4. Read at least a few pages every day. → There were a couple nights when I was so exhausted that my eyes closed as soon as my head hit the pillow, but the important thing for me is just to finish the book at some point, no pressure.

This week’s theme is Metamorphosis, and boy isn’t that appropriate in my case. Although to be honest, the whole point of this challenge for me is metamorphosis, but it could also be the catchphrase for my life in the past few years, so as far as I’m concerned, metamorphosis is every week’s theme. 🙂

Building Rome – Week 5:

1. Continue to try and get exercise at least 3x a week, be it in the form of pilates, home workout or long walk.

2. Clean the living room windows.

3. Avoid giving myself negative points.

I wanna feel the change consume me
Feel the outside turning in

I wanna the feel the metamorphosis
And cleansing I’ve endured in
My shadow

8 thoughts on “In Rome – Week 5”

  1. Holding the plank for 20 seconds is really good! I fear my next exercising session – after not doing anything for 4 weeks, it’s probably back to zero! 🙂

  2. G’day – just dropping by to provide some encouragement. I’m a building buddy now – via Bradley’s blog and trying to make the rounds and connect with other participants. 🙂

    You’ve got a great list of goals, steadily getting there!

    I have one goal this week. Run/Walk 3kms every day for 7 days. I;ve just finished 2/7 5 days left to go.

    I can hardly feel my butt and every other muscle in my body is aching.. so.. not sure how I’ll go.. lol

    Great to meet you and best of luck with your goals 🙂

    Miss Lou
    xx

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting, I really appreciate that!

      I’d love to add running to my exercise, but I have certain health concerns with it (heart palpitation and such), so now I’m at the point where I envy anyone who can freely run. But I’ve introduced a couple minutes of jogging into my warmup routine, and it feels good, so I’ll just have to see if I can gradually extend that time to maybe up to 10 mins.

      You’ve got a great goal there yourself, and don’t stop, no matter how much your muscles hurt. I call that “good pain” because at least I know I’ve earned it in a good way, and it serves a good purpose, unlike all the other pains I’ve been subjected to. So, stay motivated, and I’ll be dropping by to check in on you and cheer you on!

      Ana

      1. Sorry to hear about the yucky pain you’ve experienced 😦

        I really enjoy the pain gained from exercising – like you said it is a healthy pain and one that reminds you that you have earnt for a purpose and it is genuinely doing your body some good!

        Thanks also for the encouragement 🙂 I managed to get through the 7 days and have set another goal for another 7 days and week of Gluten Free munching!

        (that one might be hard)

        Catch up soon

        Miss Lou
        xx

Leave a Reply

