Sharing my world – Week 25

Love the questions this week, Cee, as they’re right up my alley.

What is your favorite type of dog?

Wow, that’s easy: a French bulldog. Until a couple years ago, Frenchies were rarely to be seen in Croatia, which explains the fact why I only first ran into one back in 2009 during my travels in Slovenia. It was love at first sight: the dog in question was so comical and cute, and exuded more personality than I’d seen in any dog in quite a while.

Happy French bulldog in Bovec, Slovenia
Happy French bulldog in Bovec, Slovenia

But what really made the difference to me was that I felt a weird sort of kinship with it, like it was my counterpart in the doggie-world: as crazy as this may sound, the dog behaved much like I do in normal life. It propped itself up on a bar stool to claim attention from both owner and bartender (which is what I do regularly at bars, being short and practically invisible to taller people); it was exhausted after running around for 1 minute, wheezing (like I do); its butt moved to and fro when it walked in such a ridiculous way that it cracked me up (which is how I think my big butt looks like from behind).

When I researched the breed, it turned out that they suffer from a congenital thyroid disorder (check!) which prevents them from being as active as other dogs (check!) because they tire very easily (check!). They also suffer in the heat (check!) and dehydrate easily in the summer (check!). Need I say more? 🙂

Anyways, after this scintillating dissertation on frenchies, I may also add that I love English bulldogs and pugs (figures, eh?), corgies (I don’t care how purportedly dumb they may be), labradors, samoyeds, huskies, Alaskan malamutes, akita and shiba inus. (Doge FTW!)doge

Name one thing many people don’t know about you.

I believe that we choose our parents when we come into this world (and not the other way around). Not a popular belief.

Have you ever gone scuba-diving? If you haven’t, would you want to?

No, but I’d love to, somewhere warm and not too deep like the Red Sea where my sinuses wouldn’t hurt from the pressure.

What was the most important event in your life last week?

Actually, there were two in the same category: I landed a huge translation gig which will bring in some nice money, and the language school here in Dortmund that wanted to hire me but didn’t want to go through the application process to sort out my working papers (long story that I’ll get into in another post) has decided they want to do it, after all. Looks like I might be employed from mid-July.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for the two job opportunities I scored last week.

was looking forward to a short trip to London to catch one of the Monty Python shows, but it’s almost certain that I’ll have to cancel it because of my translation deadlines. On the other hand, I’ll be done with the bulk of the translation work by the end of next week and will hopefully be able to relax.

Found on memecenter.com
Found on memecenter.com
8 thoughts on “Sharing my world – Week 25”

Leave a Reply

