Sharing my world – Week 24

Fun and interesting questions this week, Cee.

What makes you feel most secure?

It used to be full immersion into a book. I could just lose myself in another world and not think about this one. This gave way to binge-watching TV series a couple years ago, which also distracted me successfully from my worries. These days, it’s feeling my guy’s arm around me as we curl up on the couch and cuddle and watch something together.

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

Probably a biker boot. They are so useful, comfy and versatile.

How many languages do you speak?

English, obviously. Croatian is my mother tongue. I’m also fluent in Italian. My German was rusty from years of disuse, but now that I’m forced to speak it I’m getting back on track. I could be doing more to become more fluent, but I don’t feel like pressuring myself with that just yet. I learned Portuguese for a few years and can still understand it very well and speak a little. I also understand Spanish pretty well and could probably string a few words together if I had to. Being born in Croatia automatically includes Serbian in my portfolio (my generation still had to learn the Cyrillic script in school) as they’re basically the same language, and I can also understand Slovenian.

What was the largest city you have been to? What is the one thing you remember most?

Now, I had to check some facts to answer this, as I’ve been to NYC (15+ million inhabitants) and Istanbul (14+ million). New York is the bigger city, but my visit there 16 years ago was a 3-day whirlwind blur, so I didn’t see it properly and can’t remember much. What I do remember, though, is craning my neck to try and envelop in a single gaze the buildings around Times Square. I’d never before been surrounded by so many tall buildings. My favorite memory from Istanbul, on the other hand, is crossing the Bosphorus on a ferry on a cold but sunny December morning while the prayer call suddenly went up across the whole city, reverberating through the Golden Horn and being taken up by answering calls from mosques on the Asian side of the city. I found it incredibly stirring.

Me in Istanbul
Me in Istanbul, 2008

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful once again to myself, for taking charge of my exercise regime and pushing myself to do more, do better.

I’m looking forward to very possibly landing a translation gig that would keep me very busy for the next month or two, and earn me a nice sum.

6 thoughts on “Sharing my world – Week 24”

  1. I envy all the languages you speak. Two years of high school French…don’t remember a thing. High school Latin–loved it but who speaks Latin?! 🙂

    1. I did Latin as well, but I only found it useful with understanding some high-falutin’ words and concepts in English, and how languages evolve. Also, when you come from a small and insignificant country like Croatia, you practically have to learn a couple languages if you want to get anywhere in life.

Leave a Reply

