All roads lead to Rome – Week 2: Serenity

These were my goals for Week 1 of the Building Rome project/challenge:

1. Choose an excercise program and start doing it 2-3 times a week. → Done, and done! I opted for the pilates program 3 times a week (Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays) and went twice. A twice-weekly “yoga for your back” course is included in the monthly price, so I’ll see if I have the discipline to add it to my exercise program. It would mean going to the gym every day, and I don’t know if I’m ready to push myself that far yet.

2. Publish at least one more post on the blog. (I have quite a few queued up and I need to start clearing the draft section.) → I ended up publishing two more posts, one of which represents a new feature on the blog: book reviews.

3. Unpack the 3 leftover moving boxes. → Unpacked 1/3 boxes. It was the one containing my favorite books, CDs and DVDs, and was admittedly the easiest one to do because it didn’t involve dealing with the closet. The rest I honestly didn’t have time for, as we were away at a festival for a few days.

4. Reorganize my closet space. (See #3.) → I barely even touched the two boxes containing my shoes and summer clothing, I just pulled out a couple dresses that I wanted to wear over the weekend. So that’s on this week’s to-do list.

5. Do not give myself negative points. On anything. → Failed pretty miserably on that one, as I expected I would because I’ve made it my life’s business to find fault with myself for every little thing, and it’s one of the hardest things to unlearn. I can tell it’s gonna remain a fixed point on this list for a long, long time. Most people who commented on last week’s post agreed that they needed to work on this, too. Not that I seek comfort in numbers – I just know that most people function by berating themselves, whether consciously or no.

Building Rome – Week 2:

1. Continue exercising at least twice a week, and push myself to three.

2. Avoid giving myself negative points. (SERENITY NOW!)

3. Unpack two leftover moving boxes and organize closet.

4. Read at least for a bit every day. (I’m re-reading Middlemarch in preparation for Rebecca Mead’s book on the same subject.)

5. Publish two more posts on the blog.

3 thoughts on “All roads lead to Rome – Week 2: Serenity”

Leave a Reply

