Sharing my world – Week 22

Regarding animals, would you prefer not having them around or having domestic pets, farm animals, or seeing them in nature or the zoo?

I have mixed feelings about keeping animals as pets, especially in cities and apartments. That said, I’d always wanted a dog –  I still do – but a small one, like a French bulldog, which would actually thrive in an apartment as they’re not really outdoorsy dogs. Cats are fine, too, but unfortunately I’m allergic to them. Farm animals I’m also ok with – on farms, that is. 🙂 Zoos, however, I also have mixed feelings about. While I do appreciate the opportunity to see animals up close that I normally wouldn’t, as well as the fact that many zoos operate as shelters for endangered species, I’ve seen enough poorly kept zoos with forlorn occupants harassed by visitors to make me reel at the idea.

Are you a collector of anything?

I used to collect a bunch of things when I was a kid – napkins, bottle lids, badges, stamps, posters, postcards – but I outgrew the habit. These days, I collect only fridge magnets from cities and places that I visit.

If you could know the answer to any question, besides ‘What is the meaning of life?’ what would it be?

Why can’t people walk around (especially on pavements) in an orderly, rational way, without cutting off my trajectory, suddenly stopping right in front of me, etc.?

If you were to treat yourself to the “finer things,” what would you treat yourself to?

Spa day at least once a month. Clothes by brands I can’t afford right now (nothing exclusive, just a cut above the highstreet brands I can currently afford). Staying in luxurious hotels on some of my travels. Yeah, basically just pampering stuff.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful to the blogging community for setting up some good writing challenges which now force me to write at least twice a week (I can be very lazy about it) and structure my time better. I’m also grateful to myself for getting back into the frame of mind required to do regular exercise.

I’m looking forward to seeing some good shows at an upcoming music festival here in the Ruhr area, and getting into a regular rhythm of exercising and trying to eat well.

2 thoughts on “Sharing my world – Week 22”

Leave a Reply

