Sharing My World – 2014 Week 20

If you could go back and visit any time period, what time would you travel to and why?

I’d go to late nineteenth century London. London is the only place in this world where I discovered the meaning of ‘home.’ I loved it straight away with a deep, inexplicable love that you can only feel for a place that you’ve known intimately for many years, where you were born and raised and where you felt safe. I was born and raised in Zagreb, so my instant connection to London remains a mystery to me. I sometimes like to think that my previous life had played itself out in London.

Anyways, why the late 19th century? Because that’s when London was at the pinnacle of its historical, political and cultural power; when it was literally the center of the world. I’d love to be able to sense that vibe. Oh, and the fog. I’m obsessed with fog. Especially in London and Venice.

If you could have three wishes granted for you alone, what would they be? This is a time for you to dream and have fun.

#1 – Good health, or at least better than I’ve enjoyed so far, especially with regards to my legs.

#2 – Enough money to not have to worry about it and being able to afford things I like, as well as to support my family.

#3 – The wisdom to love who I am and accordingly navigate relationships so as to bring hurt to myself and others down to a minimum.

Wanting something to quench your thirst, what would you drink?

Lately, I’ve been resorting to not-overly-carbonated mineral water. They have this Ja! brand here in Germany which sits really well with me.

If you watch TV, what are your favorite three television shows?

I rarely watch TV these days. And I’ve lost all patience with the once-a-week show formats, so when I want to see a TV show I wait for the season to finish and then I stream it and binge-watch it if I like it. Three shows that I’ve gotten into in the past year are Game Of Thrones, American Horror Story, and True Detective.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Watching the biblical floods that struck parts of my home country and its neighbors (Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia), I’m grateful to be safe and warm under my roof, fed and comfortable and lacking nothing.

I’m looking forward to being more productive next week in terms of blogging and physical activity.

7 thoughts on “Sharing My World – 2014 Week 20”

  1. Interesting about London… I hope there was more fog in the 19th century because when I lived there, I never encountered any! I have the feeling you describe every time I go up to Northern Germany and in Iceland. Who knows what triggers it!

Leave a Reply

