Sharing My World – 2014 Week 18

What object do you always have with you when traveling and why?

I have several: tissues (allergies), sunglasses (sensitive eyes), chapstick (for my constantly dry lips), iPhone (for its camera), comfy shoes.

What subject would you like to study in depth, if given the time to do so?

Again, several: the tradition of (Gothic) horror tales in literary realism, Jungian psychology and the alchemical tradition, shamanism (especially in Siberia), the life and works of J.L. Borges.

Yeah, I know.

Which would you prefer: a wild, turbulent life filled with joy, sorrow, passion and adventure – intoxicating successes and stunning setbacks; or a contented bordering on happy, secure, predictable life surrounded by friends and family without such wide swings of fortune and mood?

Can I say neither? I find the question rather black-and-white, and life is everything but. I’ve had periods of wild turbulence, as well as periods of happiness and predictability, and they all had their merits, but now in my mid-thirties I find myself looking for the middle way – some excitement, insecurity and unpredictability, mixed with a healthy dose of happiness and steadiness. The mix keeps me on my toes and doesn’t allow me to take much for granted, but I’m also not stressed and anxious. I can tell you one thing for sure, though: I don’t do predictable.

What are your favorite spices?

Rosemary, basil, dill, chive, sweet paprika, garlic.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the coming week?

I’m grateful to have met even more new, interesting people here in Dortmund, and to have started writing my blog more regularly, expanding its scope and getting more involved with the blogging community. I’m looking forward to exploring the city some more.

2 thoughts on “Sharing My World – 2014 Week 18”

Leave a Reply

