Share Your World – Week 16

How many places have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities.

I’ve lived in 4 cities, 2 houses and 4 apartments.  I was born in Zagreb, Croatia, and lived there for the greater part of my life, with the exception of 4 years that I lived in my grandparents’ house in Rovinj, on the Istrian peninsula, and the 10 months I spent as an exchange student in Columbus, Ohio, where I also lived in a house.

In Zagreb, I lived in the same apartment with my parents until I moved out, first to a rented apartment for a few months, and then to my own apartment in 2005.  Currently, however, I’m living in Dortmund, Germany.

What type of music relaxes you the most?

For relaxation, I like to listen to electronic music (Kruder&Dorfmeister, DJ Kicks), trip hop (Massive Attack) and sometimes classical music (Rodrigo, Concierto de Aranjuez).

If you could instantly become fluent in another language, what would that language be and why?

Probably French, because I’ve always regretted not having learnt it. Also, it’d be great to shame the arrogant French people I’ve met by mastering it to perfection. Or at least get some grudging respect from them.

If you could fly or breathe under water what would you prefer?

Flying. Liberty, heights, views, defying gravity.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for good friends and good company that I’ve enjoyed not only last week, but the week before, as well, when I moved to Germany. I’m grateful for good work opportunities and serendipitous moments when paths align.

I’m looking forward to finding out whether I got the teaching job I applied and interviewed for last week, and to even more good company of good people.

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – Week 16”

Leave a Reply

